Our Church Our Lady & St.Cuthberts RC Church
Church Hill
County Durham DL15 9DN
Tel: 01388 762724


The Parish Council will work with our Parish Priest in encouraging and leading all parishioners in their journey of faith and in taking Christís message of love and hope to the wider community and to the world.

To this end, our Parish Council will:

  • Encourage all parishioners to take a full part in the life of the parish.
  • Strive to involve young people in the life of the parish by listening to them and helping and encouraging them to develop new liturgical, spiritual and social activities to suit their needs.
  • Through the promotion and support of the work of existing parish groups and the creation of new groups if needed, oversee, develop and co-ordinate
  •    A. the pastoral, liturgical, fundraising, social and administrative activities of the parish
  •    B. our ties with other Christian communities in Crook and surrounding areas
  •    C. our work in the local community and in promoting peace and justice in the world and
  •    D. the maintenance of the buildings and other assets of the parish
  • Build up our ties with the parish school and with the secondary schools which our young people attend.
  • Act as the Parish Finance Committee1 .
  • Ensure that robust structures exist to maintain and develop the life of the parish if the time comes when we have no resident parish priest.
  • Appoint two parishioners to represent it on the Diocesan Pastoral Council.
  • 1To be a member of the Parish Council you must be appointed to the Parish Finance Committee by the Parish Priest


    The MEMBERS OF THE PARISH COUNCIL and their roles or which ministry they represent are shown below.




    Fr Gordon Ryan

    Fr Gordon

    Parish Priest

    Michael Rowell

    Deacon Michael


    Sister Joy

    Sr Joy

    Parish Sister

    Sister Mary Jane


    Parish Sister

    Maria Crawford


    Chair, Finance, Children's Liturgy, Schools

    Patrick Timothy


    Secretary, Finance, Liturgy, Readers, Eucharistic ministers, Altar servers, Welcomers, Social Events, SVP

    Anne Berry

    Anne B.

    Justice & Peace, Churches Together

    Eugene Brady


    Finance, Garden Fete

    Ann Callan


    Finance, St. Cuthbert's Centre

    Simon Carson


    Buildings & Grounds, Finance

    Tanya Devereux


    Children's Liturgy, Schools, Buildings & grounds, Fundraising

    David Instone


    Young People of the Parish, Buildings & Grounds

    Mary McEldon


    Organist, Choir

    Maeve Mooney


    Administration etc., Bulletin, Communication

    Anne Smith

    Anne S.

    Formation, Catechists, Evangelisation, Eucharistic Ministers, Bidding prayers

    Katy Gosling


    St Thomas of Canterbury, Wolsingham


    If you wish to become involved in any of these activities, please contact the appropriate person named above or speak to the parish priest, Father Gordon Ryan, tel. no. 01388 762724 or email saintcuthbertschurchcrook@uwclub.net

    Roger Kelly and Anne Smith represent our parish on the Diocesan Council of Laity.

    The Parish Council CONSTITUTION provides that 3 Members of the Parish Council are to stand down each year and are to be replaced in accordance with procedures established by the Parish Council. The first time this happened was in 2014. Because of recent changes in the administration of the Parish, on this occasion, specific parishioners were asked to fill the vacancies to carry out specific roles. In future the procedures will provide for parishioners generally to be invited to put their names forward to fill these vacancies.

    The Parish Council meets at least 6 times a year. The minutes of the last meeting, can be seen here at PARISH COUNCIL MINUTES 26th APRIL 2017. The next parish council meeting will be held on 14th June 2017. Our Lady & St. Cuthbert's Church Accounts year ended 31 March 2017 are attached for your information at PARISH ACCOUNTS.

    Once a year the Parish Council reports to parishioners at an open parish meeting. The Annual Parish Council Report for 2016 can be seen here ANNUAL REPORT.

    The Parish Council has a Chair and a Secretary who each hold those offices for 2 years and who are not eligible for election to one of those positions for four years after their term of office concludes. The current Chair is Maria Crawford and the current Secretary is Patrick Timothy.